november, 2017

02nov11:00 am2017 Guardian of the Human Spirit Luncheon11:00 am Hilton Americas Price: Tickets from $250; tables from $2,500

Event Details

Holocaust Museum Houston is set to honor Gregory L. Fenves, president of The University of Texas at Austin, and The University of Texas at Austin with the 2017 Guardian of the Human Spirit Award for their commitment to service and building an open-minded society.

The museum’s annual Guardian of the Human Spirit luncheon is scheduled for Thursday, November 2, 2017 at Hilton Americas-Houston, 1600 Lamar St.  Established in 1997, the Guardian of the Human Spirit Award is a platform for acknowledging dedicated individuals and institutions who have worked to enhance the lives of others and to better humankind.

Gregory L. Fenves, the 29th president of The University of Texas at Austin, has impacted society with his lifelong dedication to teaching, research and academic leadership. As the son of a Holocaust survivor, Fenves appreciates the important role immigrants continue to play in making America “better, richer and stronger.” He encourages tomorrow’s leaders to work with people from different backgrounds to gain experience and understanding of new perspectives. He credits his father’s courage as an immigrant to the United States, and his own insights gained from living summers in Mexico City, for helping shape his global view.

Under Fenves’s tutelage, The University of Texas at Austin, an enduring symbol of the spirit of Texas, works to change the world through groundbreaking research and cutting-edge teaching and learning initiatives. Together, The University of Texas at Austin and President Fenves educate and inspire tomorrow’s leaders to explore countless opportunities and cultures. This combined human impact exemplifies what it means to be a Guardian of the Human Spirit.

This year’s Honorary Chairs are The Jack S. Blanton Family, The Cockrell Family and UT System Chancellor Bill McRaven.   Luncheon Chairs include prominent Houstonians Linda and Les Allison, Tali and Eric Blumrosen, Hannah and Cal McNair, and Kelly and Bill Montgomery.  The Host Committee is chaired by Pauline and Alfie Meyerson. PaperCity magazine serves as media sponsor.  Linda Lorelle, president and executive producer of Lorelle Media, will serve as mistress of ceremonies.

Previous recipients of the award have included Ric Campo; Velva G. and H. Fred Levine; Edith and Josef Mincberg, Bill Morgan and Murry Bowden; the Harry Mach family; KIPP founders Dave Levin and Mike Feinberg; former Mayor Annise Parker, Barbara and Gerald Hines; Marc J. Shapiro; Lester and Sue Smith; Sandra Weiner and Martin Fein; Naomi Warren and Fred Zeidman; Joan and Stanford Alexander; Ed Wulfe and the H-E-B grocery chain; Jack Blanton and The Houston Chronicle; the Rev. William A. Lawson and Julie and Ben Rogers; Linda P. Lay and Siegi Izakson; and Ron Stone.


(Thursday) 11:00 am


Hilton Americas

1600 Lamar St., Houston


Tickets from $250; tables from $2,500

Leave a Comment

Signup for our e-news!
Get the latest Houston Family Magazine news delivered right to your inbox!
We will never share your email.
September Issue